top of page
Anuja 2.jpg

Image: Anuja Varghese, author and host at the 29th annual Hamilton Literary Awards (2022)

Call for Submission - LA.png
HPL_primary_logo black.png
THAQ_logo 2021.jpg
Cable 14 logo.png

On December 12, 2022, the 29th annual Hamilton Literary Awards were presented at Theatre Aquarius. The Awards celebrated literary excellence in works published in 2021 from the Greater Hamilton Area and Six Nations of the Grand River. Authors were recognized in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry and the Kerry Schooley Book Award.

On-demand viewing of the Awards is available exclusively for Cogeco & Rogers television subscribers by Broadcast Sponsor, Cable 14, at

Read the 2022 Hamilton Literary Awards Program Report

Read about the 29th annual Hamilton Literary Awards recipients and highlights from the in-person ceremony, by following the links below:

Read more about the legacy of the Awards and 2022 award recipients:

2022 Shortlist

2022 Sponsors

Headline Sponsors:

  • Venue Sponsor: Theatre Aquarius

  • Event Sponsor: Hamilton Public Library​

  • Broadcast Sponsor: Cable 14

Award Sponsors:

  • Kerry Schooley Book Award: A Different Drummer Books

  • Poetry Award Sponsor: Hamilton Community Foundation

  • Non-Fiction Award Sponsor: The Village of Wentworth Heights

  • Fiction Award Sponsor: Epic Books

Schlegel Villages.jpg
LOGO - transparent background.png

Contributing Sponsors:

  • FirstOntario Credit Union

  • Ojistoh Publishing

  • Towneplace Suites by Marriott

FCU Process - Blue Orange Large.png
Ojistoh logo image.png

The Hamilton Literary Awards program priorities include:

  • building new audiences for authors in the Greater Hamilton Area and the Six Nations of the Grand River

  • creating pathways for authors to develop their professional networks

  • fostering and highlighting a diverse representation of authors, committee members, adjudicators, audiences, and host

  • increasing visibility of and access to the Hamilton Literary Awards

Call for Submission - LA (1).png

The 2023 Hamilton Literary Awards

The submission period for books published in the calendar year of 2022 will open in May/June of 2023. We look forward to opening submissions for our 30th annual Hamilton Literary Awards! 

In the meantime, please email Program Coordinator, Megan, with any specific questions.

Eligibility & Submission Criteria


About Kerry Schooley

bottom of page